Kowanyama Aboriginal Shire Council By-Election

Dec 31, 2021

The Electoral Commission of Queensland (ECQ) said candidate nominations are now open for a councillor position with the Kowanyama Aboriginal Shire Council following the creation of a vacancy on Tuesday 16 November 2021.

Commissioner Pat Vidgen said early voting for Kowanyama’s around 700 electors will be from 9am to 6pm on Friday 14 January, with election day voting from 8am to 6pm on Saturday 15 January 2022.

“Anyone interested in becoming a candidate must have completed and lodged their nomination form with the Returning Officer or the ECQ by noon on Thursday 23 December 2021.

“Nomination forms and information about becoming a candidate are available on the ECQ’s website.”

Mr Vidgen said it is important not to leave nominating until the last minute as there are some important requirements to meet.

“Under the Local Government Electoral Act 2011 there are several steps a candidate must take when nominating.

“Potential candidates need to make sure they are eligible to nominate, complete free mandatory online training through the Department of State Development, Infrastructure, Local Government and Planning website, pay a $250 deposit, and open a dedicated campaign bank account.

“A full list of requirements is on the ECQ’s website under the Election Participants page, and I encourage anyone interested in running in this councillor by-election to check this page and nominate as soon as possible.”

Mr Vidgen said now was a great time to ensure Kowanyama electors are correctly enrolled.

“Enrolling or updating your enrolment is easy and can be done online in a few minutes.

“Anyone who has moved recently, or has just turned 18, should make sure they’re correctly enrolled by going to aec.gov.au.

“I remind electors, voting is compulsory at all levels of government in Queensland.”

Electors interesting in applying for a postal vote can do so online now and applications must be received by the ECQ prior to 7pm on Monday 3 January 2022.

All voting must be completed by 6pm on election day with the deadline for the return of postal votes on Tuesday 25 January 2022.

In accordance with section 65 of the Local Government Electoral Act 2011, the voting system is first-past-the-post as is required for undivided council elections. There is only one candidate to be elected in this by-election and this means only one box must be marked on the ballot paper for the vote to count.

Voting information including locations and times, is available at ecq.qld.gov.au or by calling 1300 881 665.

Election Timetable
Notice of election and opening of candidate nominationsMonday 13 December 2021
Close of electoral rollMonday 20 December 2021
Close of nominations12:00pm Thursday 23 December 2021
Ballot paper order draw2:30pm Thursday 23 December 2021
Close of postal vote applications7:00pm Monday 3 January 2022
Early voting9:00am – 6:00pm Friday 14 January 2022
Election day8:00am – 6:00pm Saturday 15 January 2022
Deadline for the return of postal votesTuesday 25 January 2022
Returning OfficerNatalie Beattie
Media Contactmedia@ecq.qld.gov.au, 0438 120 699
General Enquiries1300 881 665